Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
3

Beets per minute

Borscht and Chroma Key
3

I’ve never used this new feature. And I’ve never made borscht! I’m not Ukrainian, Armenian, Ashkenazi Jewish, Azerbaijani, Belarusian, Czech, Estonian, Georgian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Mennonite, Moldovan, Polish, Romanian, Russian nor of any origin associated with this piping hot savory dish. I have great great great great great great great grandparents buried in a cemetery around the corner from where I live in this quaint New England hamlet that I reside in. And my parents have a common relative. I’m New England through and through. But my kids do have some Balkan lineage from their dad’s side. Their grandfather emigrated to France from former Yugoslavia in the 60’s hence the almost vowel-less last name. So there’s that interesting tidbit in my otherwise boring oatmeal-ness. I made borscht because I am running out of dinner ideas! Why not something hot, bountiful and simmering on the stove in my new matching red Dutch oven? Plus, I saw Pamela Adlon make it on an episode of “Better Things”!

In case you’re out of ideas, here is the recipe:

https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/84450/ukrainian-red-borscht-soup/

Here’s how it turned out:

Does it look right? It tasted pretttayyyyy pretttayy good!

Beets are also the kernel of the idea to kick off my use of this new video feature! (Did I do this right? It’s been a big deal on The ‘Stack these last couple of days with threats of TikTok being phased out. Dead social media platform walking. I am beet red as you can see, thanks to a Splice Chroma Key feature. Maybe I’m no meteorologist, but it hides my wrinkles.

I am also playing a song on the piano that will be coming out at the end of this month! It goes by the name of “BSG” but really, it’s called “Bat Shit Girl?” I’m going for that mysterious non-controversial Sabbath choice? What does “N.I.B.” Stand for? (I know you probably know if you’re even reading this!!)

Share

But WHO is Bat Shit Girl? You? Me? The secretary I used to work with? D.) All of the above! I have been playing this song for years on guitar. It finally got bronzed when I recorded it with Console Lole in France. But now I am attempting it on piano. My son, who is ensconced in end of year grueling French Baccalaureate exams, even came out of his fog and said I sounded pretty good. The above video attests to how brilliantly I am playing the BSG bridge (I hope you detect that I am kidding!)

Anyway, BSG out soon. Stay tuned. Maaaaaybe I’ll have a story to go with it. Or maybe not.

3 Comments
BrittaRiffindots
The Riff & Nyo Psikedelik Time Zone Ostinato Show
Riff (Britta) and Nyo (NyoNyo) pool their psychedelic music obsessions between Boston and Jakarta and interview up and coming musicians between all the time zones!
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Britta Pejic